Homemade Italian Gnocchi

During my first visit in Italy, I ordered gnocchi with tomatoe sauce for a dinner. I still remember sitting in a cozy restaurant and enjoying my plate full of gnocchi. I was really pleased and I had been hoping that my plate would never get empty😋

Generally, I’m not fond of packaged food, so obviously I wanted to learn how to make gnocchi at home. Good news – it’s very simple. When you add a bit of Prosciutto Crudo and grate some good cheese, your taste buds will be delighted.

INGREDIENTS (3 – 4 servings):

  • 1kg potatoes
  • 300g flour*
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 2 tsp pepper
  • 1 whole beated egg
  • ham, grated cheese

*Yes, in many recipes you will find only 100g flour but sincerely speaking, it’s not enough. Personally, I use 200g – 300g flour, however you can’t add too much flour because then gnocchi turn out a bit hard. Don’t worry if you don’t get the perfect consistency immediately, you need to develop the right image of how the dough should be like😉

HOW TO:

Peel the potatoes and cook them for 20-30 minutes.

Press them with a dicer (not the machine – it’s more difficult to get the right consistency afterwards) or use a normal tablespoon instead (my Granny’s method).

Add pepper, salt, a whole slightly beated egg and some flour (not all at once but at least those 100g). Mix shortly and then begin to add more flour. Don’t forget to lightly flour your work surface.

When you reach a satisfying consistency (it shouldn’t adhere to your fingers), split the dough into smaller pieces from which you will form rather thin rolls. Then cut stripes – the gnocchi from them.

Press the gnocchi with the tines of a fork to get the decorative stripes.

Cook for cca. 5 minutes until they start to float on the surface.

I recommend serving them with Prosciutto Crudo and whatever cheese you like. To make the dish more careful, you can decorate it with fresh basil.

 

Bon Appétit!😊

IMG_1469

Leave a Reply

