Valentine’s Day Cake❤

If you look for a simple but charming Valentine’s Day recipe, you’ve found the right one. This is a heart-shaped bi-colour pound cake.

I’ve always wanted to have a heart cake mould, which would really look like a heart. Most of the cake moulds I had, were too round and the cake never turned out like a heart (more like a strange circle). Then I heard about Nordic Ware and when I visited their online shop, I was amazed. Still, I was unsure whether the cake pan would fulfill my expectations but when I saw it live in a store in Vienna, I knew I had to buy it.

I attached my tried-and-true tips concerning how to prepare the cake pan before using it at the bottom of this post.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 eggs
  • 250g flour
  • 200g butter (melted)
  • 4 tsp cocoa (for the „dark“ part)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp water

img_0051

HOW TO:

  1. Separate egg yolks from egg whites. Beat egg whites.
  2. Mix egg yolks with sugar, so you achieve a light yellow batter.
  3. Melt butter and let it cool for a minute.
  4. Add melted butter, flour and baking powder to the batter. Then add beated egg whites and stir gently.
  5. Split the batter into two parts and put cocoa to one of them.img_0052
  6. Butter the cake mould, sprinkle with breadcrumbs and then pour the batter into it (a bit of dark part, a bit of beige part…)img_0050
  7. Bake for approximately 35-45 minutes in the oven preheated to 180°C.
  8. I usually serve it just with powdered sugar but if you want you can pour melted chocolate over for more intensive chocolate flavour.img_0070

*MY TIPS:

  • To make sure the batter has got into all the crevices of the pan, you should pick up your pan and wrap it firmly on the counter. Just make sure you set down a towel on your countertop before, so you don’t damage it.
  • Another good thing to do is to roll the batter around the edges before putting the cake into the oven because then the cake will start up the sides of the pan when it begins to bake (no rising and cracking in the middle of the cake).
  • You should let the done cake cool for 10 minutes. I’ve heard that 10 minutes is a special number which is perfect for the cake (less than 10 minutes – the cake can break easily, more than 10 minutes – it’s more difficult to remove the cake from the pan).

I hope you liked my idea. Happy Valentine’s Day to you!👫

Leave a Reply

