Makowiec – Christmas poppy roll💖

Makowiec, which I translate as a poppy-seed roll, is my favourite Christmas cake. Biscuits, gingerbread cookies, cheesecakes… no, there is no better Christmas treat than makowiec😉

This year I have a great assistant – Kenwood kMix. It has been on sale in a nearby store recently and I knew I have to persuade my Dad to buy it for me. I’ve always wanted to own one, because I have a passion for spending time in the kitchen and I have good experience with Kenwood products so far.

I tested my new helper on the poppy-seed roll and… it was brilliant! By using kMix I saved a lot of time and it kneaded the dough perfectly – the dough doubled in size much more than usually!

So, here is the recipe. In case you are still not sure wheter you can cope with everything, I suggest watching the video (the link is at the bottom of this post). Hope it will help you!😊

INGREDIENTS (for two rolls):

For the dough:

  • 500 – 600g flour
  • 2 eggs + 1 egg for greasing the finished roll
  • 60g butter
  • 200ml milk
  • 15g active yeast (I use these) or 7g yeast-powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla sugar

For the poppy-seed filling:

  • 400g poppy-seed
  • some milk (cca. 100ml)
  • 1-2 tsp almond extract (optional)
  • some raisins (optional)

HOW TO:

Dissolve the active yeast in some milk.

img_5133

Put all the ingredients in a bowl and mix them (they should be in a room temperature, the butter should be melted).

Knead the dough until its elastic. Be persistent – I recommend kneading it for at least 10 minutes (if you use for instance a Kenwood machine, place all ingredients in the mixing bowl and turn the button – start from min, then turn to speed 1-1,5 and wait until you get a yeast dough consistency) . Let the dough sit in a warm place for cca. 1 hour, so it doubles in size.

img_5129

Meanwhile, you can get down to preparing the poppy-seed filling. It’s very simple – all you have to do is to mix your poppy with some milk. It shouldn’t be too liquidy, so be careful with adding milk. Now is also the right time for completing the optional steps – raisins or the almond extract. I recommend preparing your raisins before using – leave them in a glass of hot water to soften.

img_5130

After the dough grows, knead it again (5-10). This step is not obligatory but since I’ve started to do it, my cake turns out better. My hint is to do the second kneading manually.

Split the dough into two parts – balls – and roll out each ball, so you get a rectangle.

Spread the poppy-seed filling over. The layer should be middle thick and don’t forget about leaving 1-2cm spaces at the ends, so the filling won’t come out of the roll.

img_5131

Make a roll and put it into a lengthwise form. The side at which the pastry joins should be at the bottom, so the cake won’t „open“ during baking.

Let it sit in a warm place again, but this time it should be just 10-15 minutes.

img_5132

Brush with a beaten egg to give golden top and bake for cca. 30 minutes in the oven preheated to 180°C.

After the cake cools, slice it and serve it with tea.

Leave a Reply

