Hugging bear cookies🐻

Unique Christmas cookies? I believe you won’t see teddy bears hugging almonds very often.

When I came across a picture of hugging teddy cookies I was sure I must get the cutter and try it on my own. It wasn’t an easy task to get the right cookie cutter – I had to buy it online and I was worried if the paws will be long enough for holding a nut. Fortunately, when I unwrapped my package, everything was in order. I got my cutter at one polish website: https://www.tortownia.pl (the brand is called Birkmann) but I believe there are also many on Amazon. Just bear in mind the bear’s paws should be long.

The recipe itself is pretty simple. The only difficulty may be placing the nut and manipulating with the paws but I’m sure there’s no need to panic in advance.

Here’s the recipe and for more precise tutorial you can watch my video😊 (the link to it is at the bottom of this post)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 200g flour
  • 120g butter
  • 2 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 2 egg yolks

HOW TO:

Mix all the igredients and “chop the dough with a knife” – this expression is used in Poland to express that instead of mixing the ingredients with a spoon, we “cut” them with a knife, so they cohere. Then knead the dough. Refrigerate the dough for cca. 30 minutes.

img_4996

Place the dough between two sheets of baking paper (this is a very useful tip, because after you roll out the dough, it will be extra smooth and won’t adhere to the rolling pin). Roll out so you achieve a rather thin layer of dough.

img_4999

Cut out little bears, make eyes (use a toothpick) and place nuts (I recommend almonds) on the bears’s chests.

Now comes the most challenging part – wrap the bear’s paws around the nut.

img_5003

Bake for cca. 5-7 minutes (depends on the cookie size) in the oven preheated to 180°C.

I’m afraid once you saw these adorable bears you won’t be able to resist their charm😀

One Comment Add yours

  1. ciarralorren says:

    These are sooooo adorable 🙈🙈🙈

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

