My Apple Pie🍎

A smell of a baking cake always improves my mood. I love red colour, I love apples and I love products from local markets, so how could I skip making an apple pie?

I know there are already loads of good apple pie recipes published but… my apple pie is way different! Keep reading to find out why. I believe you will appreciate the pie’s decoration which I haven’t seen on any other blog. Furthermore, there is a minimum amount of sugar – the apple layer contains actually no sugar and for the dough you should use just two teaspoons!

INGREDIENTS:gala-apples

  • 3 glasses flour
  • cca. 200g – 220g butter
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 5-7 apples (depends on the size – personally I recommend using the small sweet ones, for example Gala)
  • cinnamon (optional)
  • powdered sugar (optional)

 

HOW TO:

Put flour to a large bowl, add butter. “Cut the dough with knife”, add egg yolks and then knead the dough.

apple-pie-dough

Divide the dough to 2 pieces, one of them should be bigger (it will be the base). Refrigerate for 15 min.

While you have your dough in a fridge, it’s time for making the apple layer – dice the apples and stew them for 20-30 min. After you’ve done that, sprinkle with cinnamon (it intensifies the apple flavour) and blend.

stewed-apples

Butter the baking pan (I use a square pan).

Place the bigger part of the dough at the bottom. Pierce with fork and bake for 7 min in the oven, which is preheated to 180°C. Then spread the stewed apples over it and cover the layer with mini dough balls.

Bake the pie for cca. 30 – 40 min.

apple-pie-baking

If you have any spare dough balls, you can form little flower cookies, so the dough won’t be wasted. Be careful when you will take them out from the oven as they are quite fragile.

flower-cookies

Serve with powdered sugar, vanilla ice cream or cream.

apple-pie

Let me know if you tried my special mini dough balls and how the pie turned out!😘

 

Leave a Reply

